2024 SocEnv Awards Winners Announced in London

The Society for the Environment (SocEnv) recently held its annual awards ceremony to celebrate the achievements of the environmental professional community at the Royal Society of Chemistry’s Burlington House on Tuesday 4th June.

More than 8,000 environmental professionals meet the required standards to highlight their environmental and sustainability expertise as a Chartered Environmentalist (CEnv), Registered Environmental Practitioner (REnvP) or Registered Environmental Technician (REnvTech), but some warrant further recognition for going above and beyond and are commended via the SocEnv Awards. 

A record number of entries were judged this year, which is an incredible step forward and showcases the many outstanding environmental professionals working hard to protect, preserve or enhance the environment.

SocEnv is delighted to announce the highly deserving and exceptional awards winners of the prestigious 2024 SocEnv Awards. 

2024 Rising Star

Winner: Abigail Hancock CEnv (Head of Environment and Sustainability, Linbrooke Services Ltd), Chartered Environmentalist with IEMA


2024 Environmental Professional of the Year

Runner up: Zebrina Hanly CEnv (Head of Environment and Climate Change, Royal Mail Group), Chartered Environmentalist with IEMA


Winner: Adrian Mill CEnv (Managing Director, ESS (Environmental and Social Sustainability) + Lion Rouge), Chartered Environmentalist with the Institution of Environmental Sciences (IES)


Dr Emma Wilcox CEnv, SocEnv’s Chief Executive has said “With more than 8,000 registered environmental professionals around the world carrying out critical work, it’s always a pleasure to showcase extra special achievements with our awards each year. A huge congratulations to all those individuals honoured during this year’s awards and 20th anniversary event.”

As well as announcing the 2024 SocEnv Awards winners, the event also included two panel discussions on SocEnv’s 20th anniversary and the 2024 World Environment Day theme.


New Honorary Fellow of the Society for the Environment

The newest Honorary Fellow (HonFSE) was presented to Martin Baxter CEnv, Deputy CEO at IEMA and a Chartered Environmentalist since 2004.

Martin works in the UK and internationally to support the transition to a low carbon, resource efficient and sustainable economy. He has worked in the sector for over 3 decades and has a wide breadth to his engagement and impact encompassing standards, government, industry, and the media. For all these reasons and more, Martin is a deserving recipient of the Honorary Fellowship.


20 years of SocEnv

During the event, SocEnv celebrated 20 years of the organisation and Chartered Environmentalist registration with a captivating discussion panel featuring Dr. Peter Matthews HonFSE CEnv, Professor Carolyn Roberts CEnv, Professor Will Pope HonFSE CEnv, and Dr. Emma Wilcox CEnv. These individuals have played pivotal roles in shaping SocEnv over the past two decades, providing valuable insights and reflections on our journey so far, while also sharing their thoughts on the future of SocEnv and the environmental profession.


A showcase of expertise

Focusing on this year’s World Environment Day theme of ‘Land Restoration, Desertification, and Drought Resilience’, Dr. Katie Medcalf CEnv shared her expertise on the impacts of climate change in the Caribbean Island of Reunion, while Dr. Jane Rickson CEnv discussed HS2 plans for optimising soil profiles for grasslands, a case study in SocEnv’s recently published Soils and Stones progress report and its calls to action on soil health and reuse. The panel also included discussions on water and resilient cities with other leading experts Professor Ian Barker HonFSE CEnv and Will Arnold CEnv. This well-informed panel discussion left all delegates with much to consider.


How to catch up with the event 

The panel discussions and full awards event will be available to watch back on our YouTube in the coming days. Subscribe to not miss the launch – Society for the Environment – YouTube

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

Leave a Comment